The dust has settled

I got my Step 1 score back and I did well – not as well as I had hoped, but better than I had feared. Better than the average accepted score for even the most competitive residency programs. Also, many of my friends did very well (better than I did), so congratulations to them, and to everyone who passed Step 1. It’s a tough and fair test, and it covers an immense amount of material. Passing is a worthy accomplishment.

I’m now in the middle of an outpatient Medicine block and I’m enjoying the opportunity tremendously. I have gotten to see a wide variety of patients and I have been amazed by their trust in me, and by the fact that I haven’t totally screwed anything up yet (there, I said it, I’m sure I’ll trip over a foley tomorrow …).

Except, of course, blogging. I think I need to take the site public. I don’t think I’m really ready for this step yet, but the good news is that I probably won’t have any readers, so hopefully the expectations will be low. I need some motivation to post every day and, since I’m now two weeks into this clerkship (out of four), and I haven’t posted since early June, clearly the status quo ain’t workin’.

I still have a lot of material germinating so hopefully that will see the light of day. So, big deep breath, here goes.

This entry was posted in Third Year. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The dust has settled

  1. Hopeful Premed says:

    Glad you took that step!
    I’m a new reader, got linked over here from Action Potential, and have been reading over your blog. I enjoy your posts, and I think they paint a thoughtful and honest look into medicine. I am so glad there are people like you in training who obviously care about your patients and doing what’s right rather than what’s easy.

Leave a Reply

