Debriefing Outpatient Medicine and Looking Ahead to Family Medicine

On Friday, I finished my first clerkship of third year, Outpatient Medicine. At University Medical School, our medicine rotation has been divided into three parts: an eight week inpatient block (“Medicine”), a four week Adult Outpatient block and a four week Family Medicine block. During the eight week inpatient Medicine block, students rotate among the various inpatient medicine teams, whereas students remain at a single clinic for the four week Adult Outpatient block and at another single clinic for the four week Family Medicine block. I previously posted some interim thoughts on my Adult Outpatient rotation on this blog.

I approached the rotation with the following goals (self assessment in bold):

1. Improve my patient-facing skills (H&P, general skills). I received only good feedback from my preceptor, my patients and office staff. I still have a lot that I want to work on:

-Fundoscopic exam. I can find an optic disc in about 1 in 4 eyes. My goal by the end of family medicine is to be above 75%. Before this rotation, I had never seen an optic disc in a non-dilated eye before, and I’m starting to get the hang of it.

-Cardiac Auscultation. I can hear some murmurs (certainly flagrant aortic stenosis/mitral regurg, any >III/VI murmurs), but I want to get more familiar with the cardiac exam maneuvers to elicit murmurs and when to use those clinically.

-Breast/Rectal exams. Personally, I have no desire to ever do either of these. However, they’re among the most important preventative/screening tools. Having performed a lifetime total of 1 of each, I need a lot more practice.

-Pediatric exam. Haven’t ever done this. Obviously that will change.

2. Improve my comfort and confidence interacting in a health care setting (e.g. finding labs, working with medical assistants, NP/PAs, navigating around new hospitals). In general this went very well and by the end of the rotation I was beginning to get comfortable using each of the facets of the new hospital’s EMR (radiology, labs, orders, ER system, etc.). I enjoyed working with the office team at my practice and managed those relationships and interactions well (or, at least, not badly enough that anyone said anything).

3. Improve my note-writing and patient presenting skills. A mixed bag here. On the one hand, the feedback I received on my notes was positive. On the other hand, I know that some of my presentations were not adequate (this was my first rotation and I got the distinct feeling I would have been ripped a new one by more aggressive attendings). Definitely need to improve my oral presentations before starting OB/GYN in September.

4. Learn how to study as a third year student. I learned how hard this is, but I’m not sure that I found a solution. I started with the “easiest” rotation of third year (only 45-50 hours/wk) and still found it hard to study during the week. I had allowed myself to believe that the course lectures, my clinical experience, reading for 3-5hours/wk and doing most (400) of the MKSAP questions would prepare me for the shelf. I was wrong. The shelf exam (NBME) presented questions at a level of difficulty and complexity that I was completely unprepared for. It felt like the Step 1 CBSSA that I took in December of MS2 year -. I don’t want to ever feel that way again.I felt that my OSCE (standardized patient encounter) and written essay exam (write out an entire treatment plan for a patient with untreated/poorly controlled hypertension diabetes hyperlipidemia obesity and needing all preventative health screenings) both went well, but the shelf clubbed me like I was a baby seal.
So, in setting my goals for Family Medicine, I’ve thought about the following:

1. Better patient summaries. My verbal summaries kind of suck right now. I often forget things and find it difficult to encapsulate everything in 2-3 sentences.

2. Quicker notes and a better exam routine. An uncomplicated physical still takes me too long.

I’m sure I’ll find many more things to work on as the clerkship proceeds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

