#Humblebrag

Today the resident let me close. At University Hospital this rarely happens, partly due to the plethora of trainees willing to snipe even the lowliest of OR duties and partly due to the climate of our times. At the local VA, though, students get to do a bit more – but even there, closing a case is something that might only happen every few days or so for students in the ORs.

So, needless to say, by the end anesthesia is getting antsy (the guy wanted to get to the gym in time for some basketball game), the patient is basically ready to take the needle driver and suture themselves, and the scrub nurse and circulator have even run out of small talk. It took a while. Sure, there was one air knot that had to be redone, and I had to redo one or two of my subcuticular stitches. I’m not perfect, and I was closely supervised (and I wouldn’t want it any other way), but I took the time to get it right.

As we’re wheeling the patient out, the anesthesiologist looks at my ID and says “Wait, you’re a medical student?” [Uh oh, I know where this is going]

“Yeah” [Next she asks for my name, and then I find myself in front of the dean for suturing too slowly and then you can find me flipping burgers at the local Wendy’s]

“What? You’re kidding … what year are you?”

[Swallows pride and all hope of become a doctor]

“Third year”

“Are you, like, going into surgery or something?”

[Great, now this guy is going to insult my career choice and demoralize me …]

“Yeah, I hope to.”

[Deep breath. Look for nearest box of kleenex]

“You did a really good job with that closure, it looked awesome”

[That sound you just heard was my jaw clanking on the floor]

“Thanks, thanks a lot.”

“No, really. I was impressed.”

 

You don’t get a lot of accolades as a third year medical student – even when you do well, you’re just doing things that everyone else takes for granted. Consequently, it doesn’t take much to make by day, and that definitely did the trick. I thanked him for being so patient with me while I was suturing, and finished wheeling the patient into the PACU. A nice end to a nice day.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Humblebrag

  1. allison says:

    That’s great! Do you practice your sutures a lot?

    • Many a banana has met an untimely demise at my hands. But in all seriousness, I’m not sure what “a lot” means. I practiced tying every free moment I had while wearing scrubs during the first half of the year – so knot tying is getting to the point where it is less self conscious and more automatic. I still have a lot to learn (hence, air knot). I have scrounged a bunch of sutures and bought a huge pack from amazon for about 50 cents each, including shipping. In all honestly, nothing replicates the pressure and feel of suturing and tying with hands double gloved and covered in slinky omentum, while 6 people are staring at you as you hold up their day. The best thing to do is to ask to do it – as often as possible – ASSUMING that you have learned the basics on your own (how to hold a needle driver, know basic suture patterns, watch some suturing and ask people what they are thinking/what they are looking for).

Leave a Reply

