Carry On

In the midst of sub-I season, which means that while I am rapidly accruing subjects that I want and need to blog about, but have no time or energy to do so. The past few months have been an incredible personal, as well as professional, evolution. I’ve started the long climb to becoming a neurosurgeon. Right now it is pretty grueling: the grind of a Sub-intern is totally different from the grind of a resident, but for me I think in many ways it is as stressful. It is quite a challenge to be on a monthlong job interview, with the only comparators being your residents (who have much more experience than you do since you aren’t even around the interns that much).
ERAS is in, and the interview invites are slowly trickling by. I’ve received 2 out of the three score programs that I applied to. Mrs. Thirsty Scholar has also started to receive her first invites as well – so far, none have been overlapping – and hers have been of a pretty good caliber. I’m very happy for her and I can’t wait to see what the future brings.

I have a lot to share and I’m trying to file most of it away in the offline archives until I can wade through it and find the real gems.

Again, if any MS1-MS3 with questions about couples match or neurosurgical match, please post a comment or an email and I’ll do my best to correspond with you. Since I never got much in the way of guidance due to the particular dynamics at my institution, I hope to contribute in whatever way I can if others are in the same boat.

To my fellow neurosurgery sub-I’s out there in internet land: keep your heads down and keep moving.

This entry was posted in Fourth Year, Medical School and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carry On

  1. ellenita2004 says:

    I recently discovered your blog and enjoy your thoughtful and thought-provoking reflections on medical school. As an MS1, it is good to hear from people who are a few steps ahead in their studies. I was very sexist – maybe because my favorite blogs are written by women – and I assumed you were a woman. Unless I am making another biased assumption, (based on your reference to a Mrs. Thirsty) it appears you are a man. That was a bit of a relief because I have heard multiple horror stories about the treatment of women in neurosurgery residency and I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. On the other hand, it sounds like a field that could use some thoughtful male leaders to improve the overall atmosphere, improve patient care and to make the field more inclusive. Good luck to you and Mrs. Thirsty

Leave a Reply

